Project permissions and their settings may affect the functionality of the Worklogs app. If updated incorrectly, they might prevent the user from performing certain app-related actions.
Even if you're a Jira Admin, it doesn't mean you have all the required permissions for a project, which can cause problems using the app.
It is helpful to understand how each permission affects the app’s features. That’s why we’ve listed the most common cases below, along with a table that shows how certain features are impacted if specific permissions aren’t granted.
Legend:
🔴 When a given permission is restricted, it means actions cannot be performed by the user.
🟢 When a given permission is restricted, it means actions can be performed by the user.
🟠 When a given permission is restricted, it means some actions can be performed by the user and some cannot. The description contains a detailed explanation.
First, let’s take a look at the Data Center projects and Company-managed projects within Cloud instance permissions:
|
Pages/'Subpages' |
No 'browse projects’ permission |
No 'work on issues’ permission |
No ‘edit issue’ permission |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Worklogs app main page
|
🔴
|
🟠
|
🟠 |
|
Worklogs dashboard gadget
|
🔴 |
🟠
|
🟠 |
Next are the permissions assigned to three default roles (Viewer, Member, and Administrator) within the Cloud instance Team-managed projects:
|
Project Access |
No defined role |
Viewer
|
Member
|
Administrator
|
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Private
|
🔴 |
🟠 |
🟢 |
🟢 |
|
Limited
|
🟠
|
🟠 |
🟢 |
🟢 |
|
Open
|
🟢 |
🟢 |
🟢 |
🟢 |
Lastly, in the Cloud instance Team-managed projects, disabling Time tracking in the Field settings leads to the same results as disabling ‘work on issues’ permission in the Company-managed projects:
|
Time tracking field
|
Result on the Worklogs app main page
|
Result on the Worklogs dashboard gadget
|
|---|---|---|
|
Removed from the project
|
🟠 |
🟠 |